SLASH Hip-Hop beginners review

SLASH Hip-Hop crew are expanding the much-lacking Cardiff dance scene by offering hip-hop dance classes at Vitality Gym on Park Place – from beginners to advanced.

Recommended by a fellow journo dance-a-holic, I decided to check out their beginners class on Monday evening. I had my suspicions – everything this class entails would go completely against my previously completely classical training. I have experimented with hip-hop dance before (around the time of the release of Step Up 2, I think I naively thought my new dance interest would lead me to a guy like Channing Tatum) but my skills are far from well-honed.

Call me a hip-hop convert. I was immensely impressed.

The class was lead by two enthusiastic young girls – Francesca Parma and Kimberlee Steele – and immediately I was put at ease. The warm-up was hip-hop move inspired, not your box-standard aerobics sequence. It did the job – not only was I sufficiently limbered up for some serious moves, but it managed to push the voice of my former ballet teacher screaming “shoulders back! Turn your feet out!” out of my head.

The class had a good turn-out, and the studio was well equipped for what the class needed. After the warm-up, straight into a choreographed sequence, led by Kimberlee.

The choreography was effortlessly slick and engaging, a good reflection on the teacher and choreographer herself. Her enthusiasm and energy was infectious, it was difficult not to really get into the choreography.

Aside from that, the teaching itself was clear and easy to follow – demonstrations were repeated several times, and was really tailored to the hip-hop beginner. The proof lies with my housemate who has no previous dancing experience, yet seemed to pick up the moves with ease.

The class finished with a well-rehearsed piece of choreography that defied our beginners’ status. The girls film each class and upload the video onto their Facebook page so participants can be proud and share their hard work.

In other very exciting news – SLASH are also hosting a dance workshop on Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th of November, with a range of choreographers with a complete entourage of celebrity experience to their name giving classes. Keep following for the blog…

About catrinshi

Trainee newspaper journalist at Cardiff University as part of the Journalism PGDip course. Graduated from the University of Birmingham in 2010 with a degree in German Studies. Interested in arts and culture, particularly dance - would love to review dance and musical productions for a publication in the future. If you would like to be reviewed for the blog, or have any dance-related info you would like to share, email me catrinshi@gmail.com or tweet @catrinshi. Thanks! View all posts by catrinshi

One response to “SLASH Hip-Hop beginners review

Leave a Reply

